Music’s “Starboy”: Top 10 Songs by The Weeknd


Listen to your music for free and try our app! Enjoy millions of tracks and playlists everywhere, all the time.
No payment required

The Weeknd, a force in the music industry, has delivered hit after hit, captivating listeners with his unique sound and storytelling. From his rise to stardom to the iconic The Weeknd Super Bowl 2021 performance, he’s left an indelible mark on the music scene. Join us as we delve into the top songs by The Weeknd, highlighting the tracks that have defined his career so far.

1. “Blinding Lights”

“Blinding Lights” is more than just a song; it’s a phenomenon. Released as a single in 2019, this track from The Weeknd’s album After Hours quickly became a global sensation. Its infectious synth-driven melody and the Weeknd’s haunting vocals are at the core of its charm. The song’s electronic pop sound, reminiscent of the ’80s, drew both critical acclaim and immense popularity. “Blinding Lights” spent a record-breaking 90 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, making it one of the longest-running hits in chart history. It became the anthem of 2020, resonating with listeners worldwide during a challenging year.

2. “Starboy” (ft. Daft Punk)

“Starboy” marked a significant shift in The Weeknd’s career. Released in 2016 as the title track of his third studio album, the song features a collaboration with electronic music legends Daft Punk. The track’s sleek production and Daft Punk’s signature electronic elements create a futuristic and alluring soundscape. “Starboy” was accompanied by a visually stunning music video featuring The Weeknd destroying his previous persona and embracing a new, more glamorous one. Finally, the song also helped earn The Weeknd the Grammy Award for Best Urban Contemporary Album in 2018, further cementing his place in the music industry.

3. “Can’t Feel My Face”

In 2015, The Weeknd delivered “Can’t Feel My Face,” a pop anthem with an undeniable groove. “Can’t Feel My Face” was co-written by Max Martin, the renowned Swedish producer and songwriter known for his contributions to many chart-topping hits. The Weeknd’s vocals are in top form here, effortlessly navigating the song’s range. What’s more, while the lyrics describe a love affair that feels almost drug-induced, the upbeat melody and The Weeknd’s smooth delivery give the song an infectious, danceable quality. Ultimately, it’s a testament to his ability to blend dark themes with catchy melodies.

4. “The Hills”

“The Hills” is a dark and brooding track that captures The Weeknd’s signature sound. Released in 2015 as a single, it would later appear on his second studio album, Beauty Behind the Madness. The song’s lyrics delve into themes of temptation, desire, and the emotional turmoil that can come with fame and success. “The Hills” held the number one spot on the Billboard Hot 100 chart for six consecutive weeks, solidifying The Weeknd’s status as a chart-topping artist.

5. “Save Your Tears”

“Save Your Tears” is an emotionally charged song that showcases The Weeknd’s vulnerability. Released as part of his After Hours album in 2020, the track’s somber tone and poignant lyrics resonate with listeners. The song explores themes of heartbreak and regret, with The Weeknd pleading for forgiveness and understanding. Fun fact: The Weeknd and Ariana Grande teamed up for a remix of “Save Your Tears,” adding another layer of depth to the song — their chemistry in the remix breathed new life into an already captivating track. Ultimately, this song is a poignant reminder of The Weeknd’s ability to connect with his audience deeply and emotionally.

6. “In the Night”

“In the Night” combines elements of R&B and pop, with The Weeknd’s falsetto taking center stage. Released in 2015 on his Beauty Behind the Madness album, the track’s evocative lyrics and catchy melody depict a troubled relationship and the emotional turmoil that accompanies it. The song’s memorable chorus (“All alone, she was livin’ in a world without an end or beginnin’”) has a haunting quality that stays with the listener long after the song ends. The accompanying music video features The Weeknd’s distinctive hairstyle, which became a defining visual element of his persona.

7. “Earned It”

“Earned It” was featured on the Fifty Shades of Grey soundtrack, giving The Weeknd an Academy Award for Best Original Song. Its soulful sound and sensuous lyrics perfectly complemented the film’s theme. On the other hand, The Weeknd performed “Earned It” at the 2016 Oscars ceremony, bringing his seductive vocals to one of the most prestigious stages in the entertainment industry. The Weeknd’s falsetto, accompanied by lush orchestration, creates an atmosphere of opulence and romance. “Earned It” showcases his versatility as an artist, proving he can excel in various musical styles.

8. “I Feel It Coming” (ft. Daft Punk)

The Weeknd’s collaboration with Daft Punk once again proved to be a winning formula. “I Feel It Coming” is a smooth, futuristic track that showcases his vocal range. The song combines elements of funk and electronic music, resulting in a sound that’s both retro and contemporary. Moreso, the track’s message of embracing love and connection adds a touch of warmth to its cosmic atmosphere. The music video for “I Feel It Coming” pays homage to classic sci-fi aesthetics, with The Weeknd exploring an otherworldly landscape.

9. “Call Out My Name”

“Call Out My Name” is a heartfelt and introspective track that delves into themes of heartbreak and longing. The Weeknd’s emotive delivery is on full display in this song — the artist bares his soul, conveying the pain of a failed relationship. The haunting melody and raw emotion make it a standout track in his repertoire; it’s a song that resonates with anyone who has experienced the ache of unrequited love. The track is rumored to be about his past relationship with Selena Gomez, adding a layer of personal significance to its lyrics.

10. “House of Balloons / Glass Table Girls”

We close our list with a throwback to The Weeknd’s early work — “House of Balloons” was the title track of The Weeknd’s debut mixtape, released in 2011, which marked the beginning of his journey toward mainstream success. “House of Balloons / Glass Table Girls” is a moody and experimental track, whose dark and atmospheric production, coupled with The Weeknd’s explicit lyrics, creates a sense of intrigue and allure. It’s a reminder of his roots and the unique sound that initially drew attention to his music.

Top Songs by The Weeknd: Exploring a Star

The Weeknd’s music has continually evolved, pushing boundaries and captivating audiences. From his chart-topping hits to his electrifying Super Bowl performance, he remains influential in contemporary music. Whether you’re a longtime fan or discovering his songs for the first time, these top tracks, each with its unique story, are a great starting point to dive into the world of “Music’s Starboy.”